View of upcoming events

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie in drupal. I would like to have a site with a number of events, from which I show a list of the next few shortly upcoming ones. I created some content of type Event with the CERN agenda item, and prepared a view to select those. But I am facing a number of problems:

• the content selected does not get ordered by the start date although I had defined that in the view’s definition;
  • the display always shows the “submitted by …” and I have no idea on how to change that; in fact, I do not know how to change the Display Mode - I can create one, but do not have the slightest clue on where I can define it.

Any help or other ideas on how to achieve my goal are very welcome.

Cheers,
Ralf.

Hi Ralf,

Can you share a screenshot of the View configuration?

For info, this is what I have for: Meetings | WLCG (maybe slightly more complex that what you want, but the key is in the sort criteria)

Screenshot 2023-01-20 at 09.19.27

Would be good to see what you have so we can advise.

-c

Hi -c, :wink:

Thanks for your reply. Of course, below is a screenshot of my first attempts at such a list:

You might also have a look directly at ep-afc-tsc-sandbox

Cheers,
Ralf.

Hi Ralf,

Ah, sorry, I thought my name appeared up top but it doesn’t. I’m Cath :sweat_smile:

OK, I see the URL I need to look at is Calendar - 1 | EP Graduates & Students and you’re trying to use a Grid layout. Just to confirm, are you trying to replicate the look/layout at Ongoing and Upcoming Events | CERN ?

But firstly, let’s at least get the filter and sort working, then we can worry about format later. So try the following, and let me know how you get on.

1. Set format to Table (like in my WLCG example)
  2. Under Filter, add Content: Published (=Yes)
  3. Under Fields, delete Content Revision: Title